Spinal Disorders & Back Pain For discussion of all spinal cord injuries, spinal issues, back-related pain or problems.

advertisement

Old 10-19-2010, 08:58 PM #1

10 yr Member

10 yr Member
Default Help understanding my MRI

I'm new here and trying to find my way around your forum, so forgive me if I've posted in the wrong area. Originally I posted this under the new members section, but after reading more I think I will get more answers if I repost this here.

I've been suffering for what seems like forever (reality only a couple of years) with severe pain in my neck, shoulder, arm and right hand. I finally have an appt. with a neursurgeon in 2 weeks, and I'm really hoping that surgery is an option to fix my issues, since I can't return to work until I am fixed. I've been a graphic designer for 20 years, and can't use my right hand now to draw with the problems in my neck.

The pain is so severe in my neck, driving is almost impossible now, and the nerve pain runs down my right arm into the last two fingers. I have been off work on pain meds waiting for a neurosurgeon to review my test results. I have my MRI but have difficulty understanding what it all means. Can anyone help explain to me what this means and what my options are?

MRI of cervical spine:
At the C3/4 level, there is a focal disc osteophyte complex centrally within the spinal canal. This only partially effaces the anterioar CSF space and does not result in spinal stenosis. No neural foraminal narrowing is evident.
At C4/5 level, there is a minimal broad-based posterior disc protrusion which only partially effaces the anterior CSF space and does not contact the underlying spinal cord. There is minimal narrowing of the left lateral recess and no significant narrowing of the right lateral recess.