Thoracic Outlet Syndrome Thoracic Outlet Syndrome/Brachial Plexopathy. In Memory Of DeAnne Marie.

advertisement

Old 01-29-2008, 12:12 AM #1

15 yr Member

15 yr Member
Question New Member with Question

i am so glad to have found this site. i have had a NCS and EMG as well as a simple xray and the preliminary diagnosis is TOS. I am scheduled for an MRI on Feb 6th and hope to get a defenitive diagnosis. So far it appears I have a Cervical rib and my symptoms are getting worse. My main question is if they decide to do the surgery, how long can I expect to be out of work? I am a sofware trainer, so no heavy lifting needed. thanks in advance for your answers.

Roger
rogergayla21 is offline   Reply With QuoteReply With Quote

advertisement
Old 01-29-2008, 02:28 AM #2
In Remembrance

15 yr Member
In Remembrance

15 yr Member

Have your doctors not given you any idea of when you in your particular case and given your job description, should return to work? I will be honest with you below, and this is not meant to be sarcastic or mean, just the plain truth here, ok?

How could we on the Net tell you such a personal, fact based decision, without knowing your work habits, expectations, your health, or how you developed TOS? I mean, we can GUESS for you, and maybe some can say when they returned to work, but again, that would be a real CRAP-shoot. Emphasis on CRAP.

Every single TOSer is actually an individual and I've seen everything from people feeling good enough to go out to dinner after a few days, to taking months to get over the surgery. Have you discussed with your doc HOW they are going to go in, and what the various risks are? (My surgery went just fine - no complications from the surgery itself.)

I developed my neurogenic TOS from the computer. Hours of overwork, bad ergonomics, but also something in my body which didn't like the constant repetitive movements. People who get TOS are UNIQUE and this is a rare injury.