advertisement

Old 11-03-2006, 08:06 PM #1

15 yr Member

15 yr Member
Default Elimination Diet - How to do it... and *not* do it :)

I've managed to find some of my old notes (many are still lost but these were the most important ones - I think)... Hopefully they will be able to help someone else who has chosen to take this path...

Elimination Diet - How to do it... and *not* do it
First of all I want to say that I am no expert. I am simply a person who has gone through this process, made many mistakes and hope to share the information so that others can follow this route more effectively than I did. (Cara: Have I stolen your line here? It seems awfully familiar! What would we do without you! )

This thread originally started to be about how *not* to do it. However, with the help of many people here, I am, hopefully, slowly turning it into a source of how *to* do it.

We had no support doing our elimination diet. No doctor ever suggested this for us (I have seen at least 10 different doctors over the years for both my children and myself). We did this diet completely wrong. Why? Because I didn't know all the considerations it would involve. So...

Suggestion #1: Find an Environmental Physician.

I have heard stories of allergists saying they don't do celiac tests and other doctors don't do allergy tests. I have never heard of an environmental doctor saying any of this. They seem to be able to coordinate it all. Please post anyof your experiences with 'categories' of professionals here to help others know which road/type of physician they should choose.

Suggestion #2: Know more than I did going in. It's good to be able to speak knowledgeably with your doctor. Of course, sometimes we're so affected that there's just too much brain fog. This is just one more reason why it is better to go through this process with a professional who knows what they're doing.