Parkinson's Disease Tulip

advertisement

Old 10-24-2008, 04:54 PM #1

15 yr Member

15 yr Member
Default Increasing Dystonia in the hands as well as the feet now.

I've been doing pretty well for the past 6 months, and last Monday I saw my neuro due to some complications with Klonipin and a check up. We went through the usual tap the foot, stand up with the arms crossed tests, and then she asked me to move my hands. My right hand was actually better than my left hand this time. The fingers moved nicely as I tapped quickly between the thumb and each finger. This is also a piano playing finger independence exercise so I wonder if this helps because I do it daily to keep my fingers mobile.

My left hand was downright sore like I had been squeezed in a press. The fingers stayed clenched and I was in great pain as I moved my fingers slowly apart. I even had trouble grabbing anything or even holding the steering wheel on my way to the appointment. For the next few days, the hand continued to clench tightly to a point I had bruises on the palm. By Sunday this week, the hand had calmed down and everything was back to normal. I couldn't even play the piano during that tight period.

Well I thought everyone was happy, but yesterday I had the same thing happen again. This was while I was playing my clavichord. I was playing something with an Alberti bass pattern - pinky-thumb, middle-finger thumb (5-1; 3-1), repeated over and over for measures on end at a quick tempo. This is used by Mozart and Haydn a lot in case you're wondering. This time my fingers got slower and slower, tighter and tighter to a point where I had to stop because of the pain in the hand. Interesting though. If this was tension, there would have been pain in my arm but there was none there; just in the hand its self. The hand immediately clenched up and was stiff for the rest of the day.