NeuroTalk Support Groups

NeuroTalk Support Groups (https://www.neurotalk.org/)
-   Creative Corner (https://www.neurotalk.org/creative-corner/)
-   -   Mosaics (https://www.neurotalk.org/creative-corner/40094-mosaics.html)

Peter B 02-27-2008 08:32 PM

Mosaics

Have any of you done mosaics as a hobby? It can be very meditative and enjoyable-time just flies.
I've been doing it for about 5 years, but the old arthritis is now making it very difficult for me to continue, as it takes a toll on the hands, arms, shoulders and neck.
My last piece was the tiger, 90 x 60cm, and it took me 25 hours over 7 months. Still have to grout it yet.
I grouted a large piece yesterday for my daughter and boy, am I paying for it today!!
Anyway, here's the link.
See my mosaics http://www.ringo.com/photos/albums.h...erId=167827849

the Bird 02-27-2008 08:54 PM

Peter,

I LOVE mosaics...I have done one table with my daughter when I was recovering from a bad MS attack and I wanted to do something artistic that I had never done before.

Yours are WONDERFUL....I love the Tigers...beautiful....

Thank you so much for sharing.

I have been collecting stuff to mosaic a coffee table and two end tables and a spot that was a mirror on a chiffarobe.

What materials do you usually use?

weegot5kiz 02-27-2008 09:24 PM

those are awesome, the angel fish was my favorite

Peter B 02-27-2008 11:08 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by the Bird (Post 226004)
Peter,

I LOVE mosaics...I have done one table with my daughter when I was recovering from a bad MS attack and I wanted to do something artistic that I had never done before.

Yours are WONDERFUL....I love the Tigers...beautiful....

Thank you so much for sharing.

I have been collecting stuff to mosaic a coffee table and two end tables and a spot that was a mirror on a chiffarobe.

What materials do you usually use?

Hi the Bird! Thanks.
I use MDF board and ordinary wall tiles. Board is usually 12-16mm thick so it wont sag with the large pieces.