NeuroTalk Support Groups

NeuroTalk Support Groups (https://www.neurotalk.org/)
-   Traumatic Brain Injury and Post Concussion Syndrome (https://www.neurotalk.org/traumatic-brain-injury-and-post-concussion-syndrome/)
-   -   How Long does it take for Elavil to kick in? (https://www.neurotalk.org/traumatic-brain-injury-and-post-concussion-syndrome/188742-elavil-kick.html)

skatemom 05-19-2013 12:17 PM

How Long does it take for Elavil to kick in?

Hi,
I have been on Elavil since Tuesday (today is Sunday). I am on 10mg, once a day at night. My main symptom of my PCS is a constant, horrible headache. Headache seems like such a mild word to describe the pain...

Yesterday was actually a good day, I am wondering if it is kicking in? My head still felt "full", but there seemed to be less pain. That being said, last night was horrible, I was rolling in bed, holding my head in pain, ugh.

Would love to hear everyone's experience will Elavil - I am new to this, hoping to get a path to recovery.

Mark in Idaho 05-19-2013 12:41 PM

Elavil is not a 'take this and your head aches will be gone' med. It helps many people but not everyone. Some need 20 mgs. For others, it never makes a difference.

Have you been icing the back of your head at the top of your neck ? It should help. Melatonin helps with some head aches.

It may help to take your blood pressure, especially when your head aches are at their worst. If you notice a link to a rise in BP, a BP med may help. Propranolol is often helpful. Home blood pressure meters are about $20.

My best to you.

Eowyn 05-19-2013 01:33 PM

Elavil is a preventive. It takes a couple of weeks to really take effect. Even then, as Mark says, you may need a higher dose than you started with, and then you may still have breakthrough headaches.

But you need to give it a couple of weeks to see what it is really doing for you before you ask for adjustments or changes.