NeuroTalk Support Groups

NeuroTalk Support Groups (https://www.neurotalk.org/)
-   Reflex Sympathetic Dystrophy (RSD and CRPS) (https://www.neurotalk.org/reflex-sympathetic-dystrophy-rsd-and-crps-/)
-   -   stupid ? (https://www.neurotalk.org/reflex-sympathetic-dystrophy-rsd-and-crps-/115328-stupid.html)

babs74 02-24-2010 01:27 AM

stupid ?

what does causalgia mean?? i see it frequently and i know it is part of what we have but i guess i dont understand it.. i know.. i am new to this and kind of dumb about it.. sorry:confused:

dreambeliever128 02-24-2010 08:29 AM

Hi,

RSDS was called Causalgia up until 1927. It has had several names over the years. Shoulder-hand syndrome was another but there were more.

Not only can the Drs. not treat it, they don't know what to call it.

Ada

mellowguy 02-24-2010 08:43 AM

Don't Be Afraid To Ask

Babs,
Not too many of us were born inside a medical university with parents who have won the Nobel Prize for Medicine. We all have questions that may or may not relate to our condition. There is no wrong question to ask. I for one, wasn't born with a medical processor in my head that's for sure. Or even a spelling one to boot. I was 15 before I could spell my name right in English. And I was born here in the U.S. Point is,,everyone here has questions and this is the place to come in and ask. No matter what information your asking for...Don't Be Afraid To Ask....mellowguy

SandyRI 02-24-2010 08:43 AM

Causalgia is also known as CRPS II
RSD is CRPS I

CRPS I is generally less serious than CRPS II, where there is nerve damage or nerve entrapment. RSD and Causalgia are the old terms, but are still used all the time. If you hunt around the board you'll find that the meanings of the terms discussed often.

Quote:

Originally Posted by babs74 (Post 625315)