NeuroTalk Support Groups

NeuroTalk Support Groups (https://www.neurotalk.org/)
-   Peripheral Neuropathy (https://www.neurotalk.org/peripheral-neuropathy/)
-   -   Can sfn cause joint pain (https://www.neurotalk.org/peripheral-neuropathy/161398-sfn-cause-joint-pain.html)

Liftyourhands7 11-29-2011 05:00 PM

Can sfn cause joint pain

My right arm has hurt for the last several days it seems to be in my joint area is sfn a possible cause for this kind of pain I can barley lift anything! I take Gabapentin along with many supplements, could this be the cause of my pain? Any comments appreciated I am new to this sfn stuff. Thanks Jan

mrsD 11-29-2011 05:19 PM

It is really difficult to say.

I have shingles pain occasionally in my right arm... sometimes there is nothing, then I have a few days of pain, then nothing again.

But I never have had "weakness".

I'd report this to your doctor. When motor/weakness comes over sensory issues, the doctor should know.

Susanne C. 11-30-2011 07:30 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Liftyourhands7 (Post 828520)
My right arm has hurt for the last several days it seems to be in my joint area is sfn a possible cause for this kind of pain I can barley lift anything! I take Gabapentin along with many supplements, could this be the cause of my pain? Any comments appreciated I am new to this sfn stuff. Thanks Jan

I have small and large fiber neuropathy, hereditary, with pinched nerves at elbows and wrists, possibly shoulders as well. What you are describing could certainly be pinched nerves. I have days when I cannot pull the clothes out of the washer or pass a plate at dinner. Definitely ask your doctor. Physical therapy may help you regain strength, or it may just come and go like mine.

teacherfeet 11-30-2011 07:20 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Susanne C. (Post 828672)