NeuroTalk Support Groups

NeuroTalk Support Groups (https://www.neurotalk.org/)
-   Spinal Disorders & Back Pain (https://www.neurotalk.org/spinal-disorders-and-back-pain/)
-   -   TENS Unit (https://www.neurotalk.org/spinal-disorders-and-back-pain/147183-tens-unit.html)

frenchfri1003 03-23-2011 06:41 PM

TENS Unit

Hi, just wondering if anyone has ever used a TENS unit. The PT suggested that I get a script for one from my OSS. I had a 2 level ACDF on 12/9/2010. I still get major neck and shoulder pain, knots and spasms. I have been on the computer alot of work. I am a teacher and tend to look down quite a bit or turn very quickly. My ROM has increased, but my strength is still quite poor. I use the cervical stim 4 hours a day. I went back to work on 2/14/2011 and started PT on 2/21/2011. I still have some swallowing issues, not major. Has anyone used the TENS for pain? How did is work? Was it worth it? Thanks for your responses.

Jomar 03-23-2011 07:10 PM

My dad uses a TENS quite often for his DDD pain.
It basically helps to block or intercept the pain signal.

aussiemom 03-23-2011 07:22 PM

I love mine! I can get up to 8 electrodes on it. The only downsides are what to do with the wires in the ladies room! You may be able to do a search here to see other rsponses.

Dubious 03-23-2011 11:07 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by frenchfri1003 (Post 755740)