NeuroTalk Support Groups

NeuroTalk Support Groups (https://www.neurotalk.org/)
-   Myasthenia Gravis (https://www.neurotalk.org/myasthenia-gravis/)
-   -   flu shot? (https://www.neurotalk.org/myasthenia-gravis/59057-flu-shot.html)

kristy 11-07-2008 12:08 AM

flu shot?

Hi,
I am still fairly new to this and was wondering if the flu shot is safe for people with MG. Do any of you ever get one?

I hope all of you are doing well!

redtail 11-07-2008 12:27 AM

Hi Kristy,

I've had a flu shot for the past few years, and have had no reactions.
As long as the vacination is not a live vacine its ok.
I think having the flu shot has certainly helped, some members of my family have had terrible flus this year, and I have missed them so far, but the flu shot only generally covers a very limited number/strands of the "flu".

Hope this helps a little
redtail

neutro 11-07-2008 04:22 AM

Hi Kristy,
Two weeks ago I asked the same question to my neuro and the answer was: "Since you are rather stable with your MG, you may have a flu shot without any problem, it might however be less effective since you are on Cellcept"…
Last year the answer was : " I would prefer you to skip it" but at that time I still had many MG symptoms and was still increasing the steroids.
Maurice.

Alan53 11-07-2008 06:36 AM

Hi Kristy
My Dr advised me to have a flu jab which i did I'm also new to MG but understand we have to be careful of all those nasty bugs that course's colds and flu
i think its always best to ask your Dr
Good luck Alan:)

erinhermes 11-07-2008 10:51 AM

Hello! My neuro, GP and hematologist all insisted I get a flu shot. There were no "maybe's" about it.

I did get the shot and it was fine. No pain, nothing (and I am the biggest baby ever when it comes to shots/needles)...........:D

Hang in there and let us all know how you are when you have some time!

Erin:D

guyanesebeauti 11-28-2008 11:55 AM

flu shot