NeuroTalk Support Groups

NeuroTalk Support Groups (https://www.neurotalk.org/)
-   Peripheral Neuropathy (https://www.neurotalk.org/peripheral-neuropathy/)
-   -   New Member with Questions (https://www.neurotalk.org/peripheral-neuropathy/105438-questions.html)

nateco 10-12-2009 04:19 PM

New Member with Questions

Folks, I want to thank you in advance for any and all help I receive from this site. My preliminary findings are very encouraging but I do have a very specific question about PN. Many of the posts that I read were from people who have suffered for 10 to 20 years:

1. Is this something one lives with forever?
2. Can it reach the stage where a limb must be amputated?
3. I am without a job or medical coverage. Are there any generic medicines
for PN?
4. Or, should I start with vitamins?

I am Pre-diabetic and I am trying to loose 25 lbs to help with my situation but it is a slow process.

Thanks again and God bless all of you.

nateco

frank405 10-12-2009 11:37 PM

I am a newbie to this site myself and I have found that the old-timers on this board are very knowledgeable. It's a great group of people that post here and I am positive that you will soon get answers to your questions.

Best Wishes

Frank

Brian 10-12-2009 11:46 PM

Hi nateco & welcome to this forum.

Q - Is this something one lives with forever?
A - Depends if the cause can be found and recified, nerves can regenerate.

Q-Can it reach the stage where a limb must be amputated?
A- No.

Q- 3. sorry I live in Australia so another member may be able to help you with this question.

Q-4 or should I start with vitamins?
A- Yes, I would include supplements plus pain relief drugs, if your nerve damage is from prediabetes as mine was then I would definatly get these supplements, R lipioc acid and gamma-linolenic acid 480 mg daily, plus a multi B taken with breakfast plus B12 [ methylcobalamin] 1-5 mg daily taken on an empty stomach .