NeuroTalk Support Groups

NeuroTalk Support Groups (https://www.neurotalk.org/)
-   Layoffs, Unemployment and Worker's Compensation (https://www.neurotalk.org/layoffs-unemployment-and-worker-s-compensation/)
-   -   disabled due to depression (https://www.neurotalk.org/layoffs-unemployment-and-worker-s-compensation/11427-disabled-due-depression.html)

siccy 01-18-2007 01:13 PM

disabled due to depression

Hello old newbie here
I was wondering if anyone here receives workers comp disability for depression.I know the laws vary state to state.Im in texas.I was awarded pshyc..I was given a low rating on impairment rating .Since then my condition has worsened.I have tos and rsd.I have not worked since injury 2000.Social secuity says I do not have enough quarters.To be eligible for
ssi you have to be low income.My husband made too much.I applied for vocational rehab 4 yrs ago and was told they based on income ( declined me).
I reapplied 06 and they are willing to help.After testing with rehab they tell me I need help with depression before I can go forward.Due to heavy meds for pain I do not feel like I can retrain. Voc rehab felt so too.So ...my question is has anyone here
ran into this problem?I would think wc would be resposible.But due to low impairment they are not.

Jomar 01-18-2007 01:48 PM

That's a tough situation.
Is your wc claim closed or still active/open/ongoing?

If the meds and pain caused the depression -was that added to the claim by your doctors?

my thinking-
Pain from injury = medications - plus depression from changes in life and activities and wc claim!

Did you have any depression before this?

just some thoughts on it.

A lot depends on how your doc writes and records the injury and relate the depression to it.
and of course proving it all.:Sigh:

do you have a good comp atty on your side?

can you get a re-evaluation of your limits- due to TOS & RSD?

siccy 01-31-2007 02:44 PM

depression