NeuroTalk Support Groups

NeuroTalk Support Groups (https://www.neurotalk.org/)
-   Myasthenia Gravis (https://www.neurotalk.org/myasthenia-gravis/)
-   -   IVIG Question (https://www.neurotalk.org/myasthenia-gravis/179146-ivig-question.html)

lisainvegas 11-01-2012 11:15 AM

IVIG Question

Hi All, Well it has been 23 days since I was released from the Hospital after my 5 day loading dose of IVIG. the treatment worked well for me with very little side effects other than headache. I still take 60 mg of Mestinon every 3 hours and 40 mg of Prednisone daily and I have been able to return to work part time. Two days ago I began with a sore throat and now have a horrible cough and My MG symptoms are the way they were before my IVIG. I am beginning to feel the weakness returning including vision issues. I am not sure if the effectivness of my IVIG stopped or if the virus just caused me to feel weaker? Does IVIG make you more open to infection? I work as a counselor in a very rural area with individuals that do not have great access to medical care?

4-eyes 11-01-2012 11:45 AM

IVIG actually helps with immunity as it contains the antibodies of hundreds of people who donated their blood to make it. It, however, isn't foolproof and infections do occur, especially since you have pred on board.

As you are learning, or already know, infections can make MG unhappy. The IVIG is still there, but would naturally be starting to "run out" of activity since it's been over 3 weeks since you received it.

I would suggest you give your doctor a call so this can be documented. I suspect you will be looking at adding another immune suppressing drug, such as imuran or cellcept eventually, as most with moderate-severe symptoms need that if any chance of work oriented life is desired.

Sorry you are feeling badly. Hang in there!

lisainvegas 11-01-2012 12:10 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 4-eyes (Post 927856)