NeuroTalk Support Groups

NeuroTalk Support Groups (https://www.neurotalk.org/)
-   Multiple Sclerosis (https://www.neurotalk.org/multiple-sclerosis/)
-   -   Something weird with my mouth... (https://www.neurotalk.org/multiple-sclerosis/180657-weird-mouth.html)

dmplaura 12-05-2012 10:13 PM

Something weird with my mouth...

As many of you know, I have BMS (burning mouth syndrome), believed to be associated with a brain stem lesion from my MS.

I've been battling this burning sensation since mid 2007. It's truly awful. I have to take Clonazepam (Klonopin) and chew peppermint gum to keep my mouth from being a raging fire of pain (like being scaled with hot coffee, worsening as the day progresses).

Today, I noticed an odd taste (at first), then a really odd sensation along the side of my tongue on the right side (where the BMS really did start in my mouth). At first I didn't understand what was going on... it was while making supper that I remarked to hubby, "Oh my gosh, I don't feel burning anymore along my tongue!!!". It's more a numbness with a tiny bit of pin prickly feeling, versus the other side (left) that has the burning mouth thing going full force.

Is this possibly my nerve(s) going into a "healing" process? Or re-wiring around the damaged area? Oh I so, so hope the BMS is going away. I haven't done anything special to help the BMS, just taking my medication regularly. NOW if the BMS goes, I can taper off Clonazepam (oh I so want off these prescription drugs).

Hope everyone's been well. Been SO busy here. January and vacation can't come soon enough!

ANNagain 12-06-2012 10:26 AM

Oh, Laura! I hope it means healing. Nerves do rewire.

ANN

SallyC 12-06-2012 11:29 AM

Wouldn't that be great, if He is giving you a break, Laura..:):hug:

Lynn 12-08-2012 12:23 AM

Hi Laura

I have everything crossed for you that a healing process is beginning and you will get some reprieve from this nasty symptom.

(((hugs)))

dmplaura 12-15-2012 10:51 PM