NeuroTalk Support Groups

NeuroTalk Support Groups (https://www.neurotalk.org/)
-   Headache (https://www.neurotalk.org/headache/)
-   -   Chronic Headache/NDPH (https://www.neurotalk.org/headache/185546-chronic-headache-ndph.html)

semoore 03-16-2013 07:35 PM

Chronic Headache/NDPH

Hi all. When I was a freshman in high school (2009) I began to have a chronic headache all day, every day and it hasn't gone away. It is like a squeezing pressure. I have seen many doctors- neurologists, neurosurgeons, dentists etc. The Jefferson Headache Clinic in Philadelphia called it New Daily Persistant Headache, other dr's have just called it chronic daily headache. I was on Fioricet for several years which helped but they made me stop taking it, as it is addictive.

I also get frequent migraines on top of the daily headaches.

I have a Chiari malformation and a syrinx, but because of the nature of my headaches, the doctors say they are unrelated. Also, because I am able to function (I finished college, can work, etc), the doctors say I don't need surgery.

Just wanted to share and see if anyone had any advice. Thanks.

semoore 03-16-2013 10:45 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by semoore (Post 966678)
Hi all. When I was a freshman in high school (2009) I began to have a chronic headache all day, every day and it hasn't gone away. It is like a squeezing pressure. I have seen many doctors- neurologists, neurosurgeons, dentists etc. The Jefferson Headache Clinic in Philadelphia called it New Daily Persistant Headache, other dr's have just called it chronic daily headache. I was on Fioricet for several years which helped but they made me stop taking it, as it is addictive.

I have a Chiari malformation and a syrinx, but because of the nature of my headaches, the doctors say they are unrelated. Also, because I am able to function (I finished college, can work, etc), the doctors say I don't need surgery.