NeuroTalk Support Groups

NeuroTalk Support Groups (https://www.neurotalk.org/)
-   Traumatic Brain Injury and Post Concussion Syndrome (https://www.neurotalk.org/traumatic-brain-injury-and-post-concussion-syndrome/)
-   -   I Thought I Was Myself Again :( (https://www.neurotalk.org/traumatic-brain-injury-and-post-concussion-syndrome/200019-i-thought-i-was-myself-again.html)

MomWriterStudent 01-22-2014 09:29 PM

I Thought I Was Myself Again :(

I'm about 7 weeks into my concussion. I originally thought that the concussion occurred on a different date than it actually did, but after reading old messages to family members, I was able to figure out that I somehow lost a week of my life. Sigh.

Anyway, about 10 days ago, I woke up feeling great. I thought I was myself again! My rent was overdue and I had a ton of bills coming up, so I went back to work. I'm a writer, so my work is very mentally demanding.

This was a huge mistake. I was able to work for a few days and even hung out with friends for two days in a row. I also took my kids to several different events and ran all of the errands that I had put off.

Now I'm back at square one, minus the brain fog. The headache is back. The depression is back. I can barely read. I can't handle loud noises. I'm typing this with one eye closed (for some reason, I started doing that on the days my concussion symptoms are the worst). The nausea has returned.

I'm incredibly depressed. I feel like this concussion will never go away. I just want to work and play with my kids. I never realized how much I took my old life for granted until now.