NeuroTalk Support Groups

NeuroTalk Support Groups (https://www.neurotalk.org/)
-   Reflex Sympathetic Dystrophy (RSD and CRPS) (https://www.neurotalk.org/reflex-sympathetic-dystrophy-rsd-and-crps-/)
-   -   Success Stories (https://www.neurotalk.org/reflex-sympathetic-dystrophy-rsd-and-crps-/222012-success-stories.html)

whiteaa 06-23-2015 10:36 AM

Success Stories

Hey guys!

As I've been going through this journey of CRPS, I have at times gotten overwhelmed by how far I have still to go. As a therapist, I am super aware of how important it is to make a note of even the smallest successes and positive experiences. I thought maybe we could all have a place to share the small successes and achieved goals we have with each other. Maybe it could even become a sticky?

Here are mine so far today:
I went on a 15 minute walk and only had significant pain on the downhills.
I walked down the stairs!!! (This is a huge success for me :D)
I was able to pull my foot up to put my socks on!

What are yours?

Littlepaw 06-23-2015 01:52 PM

I love this idea and congrats on the accomplishments! :) A Sticky about progress sounds wondermous.

It IS very easy to get bogged down. My journey has been made easier by giving myself points for the tiniest little things. Ie: starting the exercise bike at two minutes and then going to three. woo-hoo! Ya gotta start somewhere. Altering one's expectations to fit the illness can decrease a lot of grief!

recent accomplishments...

Getting through two airports last week without assistive devices.
Taking the extra cushion out of my shoe and putting the regular insert back in!
Being able to go without compression on my affected leg.
Walking two miles in one shot on a good day. :eek:
Standing for 15 minutes talking to a neighbor without my foot stinging.
Successfully Decreasing my medication dose.

This has taken about a year since CRPS began. Go for the long view...
:grouphug:

whiteaa 06-25-2015 06:30 PM