NeuroTalk Support Groups

NeuroTalk Support Groups (https://www.neurotalk.org/)
-   Trigeminal Neuralgia (https://www.neurotalk.org/trigeminal-neuralgia/)
-   -   Frustrated!! (https://www.neurotalk.org/trigeminal-neuralgia/222116-frustrated.html)

tracyh 06-25-2015 12:50 PM

Frustrated!!

I am currently 4 weeks post mvd. Can anybody tell me how long the facial numbness lasts? Also, my jaw on the left side, which is where the TN was affecting me, doesn't seem to open all the way. Has anyone else experienced that? If so will that go away with time? Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks

Burntmarshmallow 06-26-2015 08:17 AM

hello Tracy I am glad you found your way here . I have no experience with MVD but I knowplenty of people that have gone threw MVDs. This is from the stickies at the top of this page ... Ella's MVD diary (it is a good read with lots of info ) --- page 1 -
5 1/2 weeks since my MVD.
I was feeling a bit tender around the base of my incision on Saturday evening and when I felt it, there was a small lump there. I'm not at all sure what that could be. My incision seems to be closed and healed. I wonder if it is an infection starting or maybe a swollen gland. I was about to go to the emergency dept. of the hospital I had the surgery in but then the thought of sitting there for hours ended that idea. I waited till Sunday evening and after I came back from a wedding I attended in the afternoon I called the after hours hotline for my medical centre and spoke to a RN (Registered Nurse). After asking me many questions, she didn't feel I had to go to emerg but that I should have it check by my doctor in the next 24 hours. So this morning I will call and hope to get an appointment today (not so easy here in Ontario).
It is swollen and tender but no leakage or fever mmmmmm......wonder what it is. Things were moving along nicely. I hope this is just a small blip.