NeuroTalk Support Groups

NeuroTalk Support Groups (https://www.neurotalk.org/)
-   Neuromuscular (https://www.neurotalk.org/neuromuscular/)
-   -   Distal fatigue, Painful Calves (https://www.neurotalk.org/neuromuscular/225105-distal-fatigue-painful-calves.html)

calwalker 08-26-2015 02:12 AM

Distal fatigue, Painful Calves

Hi all new to the forum. My name is Cal.

Over a year ago I started out by having sore calves.
I was a keen runner then all of a sudden i couldn't run as it felt like both my calves were about to give out. I noticed that both calves had become sensitive to touch, like they were bruised or like muscles do the day after a heavy first gym session.

I quit running and instead moved to cycling, although i still had painful calves i was able to continue, and still can continue cycling.
I have some foot drop.

I am a computer programmer.
Earlier this year, overnight, my forearms suddenly stopped me from typing.
I can type for about 5 minutes before i feel the fatigue. Moving the mouse was much more difficult. This has not abated and i have now been without work for 4 months.

I have had MRI of full spine and brain. both normal.
Blood tests are normal except a slightly elevated CK. (very slightly)
I have had an EMG, which is normal.
I have had a muscle biopsy. I am awaiting results but i suspect (as does my neurologist) it too will be normal.

I'm at a bit of a loss what to do as when my muscle biopsy comes back normal, we may be at the end of the road. Diagnostically speaking.

I seem to have the symptoms only in my lower legs and lower arms.
I'm wondering if anyone else has similar symptoms and can shed any light?

Thanks
Cal

calwalker 08-26-2015 02:26 AM

should also note there is no muscle wasting.
I also still have my strength, I can weightlift, but not use a mouse.

no diet has helped thus far. I have entered ketosis, tried fasting, high carb.

it is variable to some degree, with some days being much easier than others.