NeuroTalk Support Groups

NeuroTalk Support Groups (https://www.neurotalk.org/)
-   Myasthenia Gravis (https://www.neurotalk.org/myasthenia-gravis/)
-   -   MG and Back/Hip Pain (https://www.neurotalk.org/myasthenia-gravis/245080-mg-hip-pain.html)

Robt111 02-14-2017 10:23 PM

MG and Back/Hip Pain

I've had MG for several years. Lately, I have extreme pain in the morning in my back and hip. It gets better during the day and is almost gone at night. Does any one else have such an experience?

FREDH 02-15-2017 04:01 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Robt111 (Post 1236638)
I've had MG for several years. Lately, I have extreme pain in the morning in my back and hip. It gets better during the day and is almost gone at night. Does any one else have such an experience?

Robert,
Hi, glad to have you on the forum. Just my opinion, as I'm not a Doctor, but most of the group I talk to about MG, do not have much pain. I would have to say see your GP and make sure it is not something else.
For instance: Even when I have been in crisis (twice) and in the hospital, no pain.
Good luck with all, and keep us posted.
FREDH

AnnieB3 02-16-2017 12:23 AM

Hey, Robt111. Most pain that gets better throughout the day has an inflammatory cause, such as arthritis. It might be worthwhile to consult with a rheumatologist, or talk to an internist about it. Pain can also be a sign of cancer.

Is your mattress older? That may contribute to any pain if it is!

Pain can be a result of weak muscles. But that would normally improve when muscles become stronger. Pain is a part of MG, but only if muscles are weaker or there is atrophy due to a sedentary life. Anyone who has weak muscles can have pain, cramping, spasming, etc. Patients with MS experience that as well. Athletes do as well, but it happens after intense activity, such as marathons.