NeuroTalk Support Groups

NeuroTalk Support Groups (https://www.neurotalk.org/)
-   Myasthenia Gravis (https://www.neurotalk.org/myasthenia-gravis/)
-   -   Negative AChR Antibodies test and Normal SFEMG (https://www.neurotalk.org/myasthenia-gravis/254116-negative-achr-antibodies-test-normal-sfemg.html)

SB_83 08-15-2019 08:10 AM

Negative AChR Antibodies test and Normal SFEMG

Hi everyone, I’m new to this form and wonder if anyone has tested normal for the above, but still been diagnosed with MG?

I’ve had fatiguable ptosis since February, with vertical DV. The DV is mild, however, the ptosis means it’s very difficult at times to keep my eyes open. I’ve therefore not worked for almost 6 months.

Blood tests were normal back in Feb/March, however, ALL eye examinations were positive i.e Ice pack test, Cogan’s lid twitch, Simpson test, and Gorelick’s sign.

Due to the above, doctors (and myself) were confident of OMG diagnosis. I was prescribed Mestinon, however this did very little for me, and Neuro then referred me for nerve stimulation test and SFEMG to try to clarify the diagnosis.

Well, this morning, I received the results of these tests, and findings were all normal! The letter from my Neuro is now saying it’s likely they’ll rule MG out!

I’m feeling exhausted by all this, and so confused. In all my time seeing the doctors, no one has ever given me a suggestion of a differential diagnosis! Any ideas?

Jeid 08-19-2019 12:17 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SB_83 (Post 1278903)
Hi everyone, I’m new to this form and wonder if anyone has tested normal for the above, but still been diagnosed with MG?

I’ve had fatiguable ptosis since February, with vertical DV. The DV is mild, however, the ptosis means it’s very difficult at times to keep my eyes open. I’ve therefore not worked for almost 6 months.

Blood tests were normal back in Feb/March, however, ALL eye examinations were positive i.e Ice pack test, Cogan’s lid twitch, Simpson test, and Gorelick’s sign.