NeuroTalk Support Groups

NeuroTalk Support Groups (https://www.neurotalk.org/)
-   Neuromuscular (https://www.neurotalk.org/neuromuscular/)
-   -   Anyone have Multifocal Motor Neuropathy ?? (https://www.neurotalk.org/neuromuscular/38797-multifocal-motor-neuropathy.html)

Braveheart07 02-11-2008 05:01 PM

Anyone have Multifocal Motor Neuropathy ??

Hi,

I am new to this post----just wondering if anyone has had experience with Multifocal Motor Neuropathy with Conduction Block and what has worked for you. I am scheduled to receive IVIG therapy soon, and am curious about that as well.....Any info. would be greatly appreciated..
Thanks !! Doug

dahlek 02-16-2008 06:26 PM

Doug I don't have MMN, but have

CIDP and have gone thru the whole cookbook of tests to get that precious diagnosis.
I suggest you take a look at the following web sites and get oriented first to understand what all is happening to your body:
This is a doctors' way of diagnosing Peripheral Neuropathy, don't discount it, as it describes all the tests that eliminate PN and a whole slew of other stuff to get to the MMN diagnosis..[besides feeling like @#*$!]
http://www.aafp.org/afp/980215ap/poncelet.html
Usually for PN folks, the MMN is diagnosed at somewhere in the 'middling' stage of tests...I think

Another diagnostic resource was put together by a PN member along with other members' input. It outlines over 96% +/- of all tests that could be done to diagnose PN, autoimmune diseases [CIDP {my issue} and MMN {your issue}] and other neuro aspects that overlap. http://www.lizajane.org/
To help you keep track of it all, tho...you have to get copies of all your tests. A frustrating thing true, but very useful if you have to move or for a heap of other issues as well.