NeuroTalk Support Groups

NeuroTalk Support Groups (https://www.neurotalk.org/)
-   Parkinson's Disease (https://www.neurotalk.org/parkinson-s-disease/)
-   -   Amantadine (https://www.neurotalk.org/parkinson-s-disease/458-amantadine.html)

indigogo 09-04-2006 10:04 PM

Amantadine

I was prescribed Amantadine by my MDS last week - for my tremor. She said she has seen some success with it for that reason, so thought we'd give it a try. I currently take one 25/100 Sinemet 3 times a day. I do not experience obvious on/offs, nor am I dyskinetic. But my resting tremor in my right hand is rather troublesome, especially when attempting to fall asleep.

Just wondering what to expect? Side effects? Your stories? Advice?

Thanks!

K Hamilton 09-05-2006 12:21 AM

I use amantidine, too.

Carey:

I've been using Amantadine for about two years, first as an adjunct to Requip, then to Mirapex.

The side effects that I have experienced started in about three months after beginning the Amantadine; they are edema in the feet and lower leg, and "livido reticularis", which is a weird kind of blotchy rash thing, on the forearms and the legs.

For the edema, I've started wearing support stockings, and have simply ignored the rash - it was hidden most of the time, anyway. Now I'm re-thinking that strategy - the latest bit I've read about it says that at least the idiopathic version can cause permanent skin damage. [It also has a connection to Raynaud's phenomenon, if anyone happens to be dealing with both, as I am.]

madeoverseas 09-05-2006 03:23 AM

Carey, I've been taking Amantadine for 6 months now and like Ron I have a purple blotchy rash on my legs and arms. In my case it's not terribly noticeable and doesn't bother me much.
I also found with this drug it has a bit of an "upper" effect.
Initially I had trouble sleeping and more energy. Now it's settled down.