NeuroTalk Support Groups

NeuroTalk Support Groups (https://www.neurotalk.org/)
-   Allergies & Multiple Chemical Sensitivity (https://www.neurotalk.org/allergies-and-multiple-chemical-sensitivity/)
-   -   ECG allergy? (https://www.neurotalk.org/allergies-and-multiple-chemical-sensitivity/49757-ecg-allergy.html)

dizzie lizzy 07-11-2008 11:08 AM

ECG allergy?

I had to wear a Holter monitor for 24 hours this past Monday-Tuesday. It's Friday and I still have raised itchy red circles where the electrodes were. Has anybody else had this happen? Does this mean I am allergic to the adhesive or the metal or just really sensitive at the moment?

Abbie 07-14-2008 07:05 PM

I'm not a doctor or anything but I am allergic to the adhesives on bandages, medical tape, and electrodes.

Sounds like you too may have had a reaction to the adhesive.

I can't tell you how to deal with it... if it's really bad or irritating you may want to check with your doctor just to be on the safe side.

I just usually clean the area where the adhesive was and let the area heal on it's own...usually goes away in a few days or so... I did go to the doctor the first few times this happened to me.. because I wasn't sure.

I wish you the best...
:)
Abbie

dizzie lizzy 07-21-2008 10:56 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Abasaki (Post 323660)
I'm not a doctor or anything but I am allergic to the adhesives on bandages, medical tape, and electrodes.

Sounds like you too may have had a reaction to the adhesive.

I can't tell you how to deal with it... if it's really bad or irritating you may want to check with your doctor just to be on the safe side.

I just usually clean the area where the adhesive was and let the area heal on it's own...usually goes away in a few days or so... I did go to the doctor the first few times this happened to me.. because I wasn't sure.

I wish you the best...
:)
Abbie

Thanks. Almost 2 weeks later there are still slight remnants but it seems to be getting better.