NeuroTalk Support Groups

NeuroTalk Support Groups (https://www.neurotalk.org/)
-   Autism (https://www.neurotalk.org/autism/)
-   -   Aspergers Syndrome (https://www.neurotalk.org/autism/53486-aspergers-syndrome.html)

kalamity_jane 09-02-2008 07:35 PM

Aspergers Syndrome

Hi all. :hug:

I have an 11 year old son with Aspergers and just wondered if anybody else here does?

I also have a 9 year old son whom the doctors think may have Tourettes or maybe Aspergers, still assessing.

Mefozzie 11-13-2008 09:29 PM

:) I am a teacher for children with Special Needs and one of my kids has Asperger Syndrome. I so love the kids in my class.

Nice to meet you!

Shannon

marleo 11-15-2008 10:19 PM

I have a 13 yo boy who has been diagnosed since about age eight. He looks different from many Aspies. He is literal. Great vocabulary and good at math but he is drawn toward being very animated and loud during stimulation-- especially in venues like the classroom or parties. Instead of withdrawing he tends to try to interact boldly (too boldly) with peers. He gets very loud and disruptive in class.

Stimulants tend to calm him down in these environments. The stimulants cause tics, sometimes painful tics. We have had a time balancing medication with behavior.

Mefozzie 11-20-2008 09:00 PM

Marleo.. have you tried mt. dew? It's wild what we use in the classroom these days. I never would have thought to try it, but we have one kiddo that it acutally works with.

Good luck!
Shannon

Squirrel 02-19-2009 12:21 PM

Also Have Aspergers Syndrome

I have Aspergers Syndrome, it is hard for my family to understand me, thinking that i should just 'fit in' with the world. It is great that today, when i started in this thingy, that i should find your posts//what ever you call them, about Aspergers Syndrome. why do people have any type of autism? what couses it?

kicker 02-23-2009 10:22 AM

Hi,