Spinal Disorders & Back Pain For discussion of all spinal cord injuries, spinal issues, back-related pain or problems.

advertisement

Old 12-03-2010, 10:44 AM #1

10 yr Member

10 yr Member
Default Spinal Cord Atrophy or whatever

I can't believe that it is so hard to understand this stuff. Be warned, this is going to sound like a rant.

I posted in Neuromuscular Disorders Forum under title of Myelopathy?? Spinal Cord Syndrome??, with one reply telling me to go here. OK.

I'm just trying to understand this. I have been progressing for 30 years now, but I think this all started when I had Polio-Encephalitis in 1950. But now I'm such a mixed bag of symptoms (old bag now, heehee ), because now I also have spinal cord compression, and the neurosurgeon said I have spinal cord atrophy. It is the "higher up" stuff going on that has me concerned, which causes the upper motor neuron signs that have plagued me long, long before the Cervical Spondylotic Myelopathy (2005).

But now, I see a real possibility that I might not ever get a certain diagnosis. My extended family has long ago bailed out on me, call me lazy, don't want to work, you don't like yourself, all that blaming thing.

My daughter has been OK, but does not realize that now I am at a point in this where I truly need some help with minor stuff -- like shopping for groceries, house chores, etc.