NeuroTalk Support Groups

NeuroTalk Support Groups (https://www.neurotalk.org/)
-   Multiple Sclerosis (https://www.neurotalk.org/multiple-sclerosis/)
-   -   Does the weakness ever go away? And is it a relapse when you are? (https://www.neurotalk.org/multiple-sclerosis/156318-weakness-relapse.html)

ItsWonderfulLife 08-31-2011 09:54 AM

Does the weakness ever go away? And is it a relapse when you are?

Im new to all of this stuff and still in limbo waiting to figure out whats wrong with me, but if it does turn out to be MS i was wondering if this extreme weakness in my legs will ever subside? I used to exercise heavily daily and now its difficult to walk up a flight of stairs...Could this just be an exaserbation or is this my new norm? Thanks for any responses

Blessings2You 08-31-2011 10:18 AM

Hi there, welcome to the neighborhood!

So hard to answer that question, especially without a definite diagnosis! For me, the weakness waxes and wanes depending on the temperature, my exertion level, and who knows what else! Some days it's hard to pull myself up the steps, other days I feel almost normal. It's not the same for any two people!

Snoopy 08-31-2011 10:20 AM

Hello ItsWonderfulLife and welcome to NeuroTalk.

In regards to MS: Exercise has been shown to be beneficial. A Physical Therapist (PT) can help get you started. Weakness, for some can be improved but it can take time, effort and frustration on the part of the patient. Unfortunately, a person with MS will not know if their weakness can be improved without making an effort.

Not everyone or every case of weakness can be improved but it is important to continue exercise/PT. What exercises depends on the persons ability.
http://www.nationalmssociety.org/liv...ise/index.aspx

Kitty 08-31-2011 10:22 AM